The 20th Harold Hilton Medal, 3rd & 4th June 2017

The Harold Hilton Medal was inaugurated in 1997 to commemorate the 100 year anniversary of Hoylake legend Harold Hilton's Open Championship home victory. It is fitting that the event is an Amateur tournament given that Harold Hilton is one of only three Amateur golfers ever to win The Open Championship. It is also telling that all three Amateur winners had strong links to Hoylake. John Ball Jr was a member of the Club and Bobby Jones won the 1930 Open Championship that was played at Hoylake. Bobby Jones also became an honorary member, so we can claim all as members at one point or another.

A qualifying medal round followed by a beatifully engineered matchplay tournament, which keeps the excitement going until the very end, is played in early June when the links is at its peak and the rough provides tremendous definition. This is a great opportunity for visitors to play competitive golf on the historic Hoylake links.

The tournament has quickly become established on the international stage with players travelling long distances to take part. It's also a tournament that attracts competitors year after year which in part is down to the sociable nature of the event. Perhaps another factor is that it is limited to players over the age of 30 and with a handicap of 5 or under, which means that few players go on to turn professional as is the norm in many other top Amateur events.

Download an Entry Form for the 2017 Tournament here...

The 19th Harold Hilton Medal - 4th & 5th June 2016

A truly international field of nearly 60 Mid Amateur players enjoyed a full weekend of golf and hospitality at our historic links and clubhouse. 

The 2016 winner Geoff Harris (Formby Golf Club) receiving the Harold Hilton Medal from Captain, David Smith. Pictured with some of the other prizewinners and competitors 


Tournament Dinner

Previous Winning Medallists 


 Year             Medal Winner        Home Club 
 2016  G Harris  Formby
 2015  S Kelbrick  Royal Liverpool
 2013  J Paulus   Bad Abbach
 2012  S Hunt 
 2011  R Stevens
 2010  P Ward   Middlesborough  
 2009  F Illouz
 2008  C Llewellyn
 2007  GH Brown  Royal Liverpool
 2006  D Ball  
 2005  M Ryall   Woolton
 2004  B Hilsdon
 GH Brown
 Royal Liverpool
 GH Brown
 Royal Liverpool
 2001  K Weir   Turnhouse
 2000  AP Jordan  Royal Liverpool
 1999  AP Jordan  Royal Liverpool
 1998  AP Jordan  Royal Liverpool
 1997  GH Brown    Royal Liverpool

(The tournament wasn't played in The Open year of 2014)

Harold Hilton


Born in West Kirby, Hilton's golfing record and contribution to the game were unparalleled. Hilton is considered one of the dominant amateur golfers of all time, winning two Open Championships, four Amateur Championships and in 1911 he became the first overseas winner of the US Amateur Championship. Also an accomplished golf writer, he became the first editor of Golf Monthly.